Quick Links

Useful Links

Prestbury St Marys

Meet the Governors

Prestbury St Mary’s Federation Governing Body

The Governing Body, made up of unpaid volunteers, is dedicated to developing the Federation of St Mary’s Infant and Prestbury St Mary’s Junior C of E Schools to provide the best possible education for all the pupils.

The members of the Governing Body are from a variety of backgrounds and actively oversee and contribute to the leadership of the Federation through the sometimes complex processes of strategic planning; challenging and supporting the Executive Headteacher and ensuring financial probity, whilst always representing the interests of the two schools and those within them.

The Governing body meets six times a year and, in order to help it in its work, has set up five committees, as follows:

  • Curriculum Committee
  • Vision and Ethos Committee
  • Pay and Personnel Committee
  • Finance and Premises Committee
  • Admissions Committee

The committees meet regularly through the year and report back to the Governing Body on their findings and decisions.


Governor type Name Term of Office start Term of Office end Membership
Foundation 1 Michael Brick 01/09/2016 31/08/2024 V Chair
Foundation 2 David Crompton 01/09/2018 31/08/2022 M
Foundation 3 Carol Gunn 01/09/2016 31/08/2024 M
Foundation 4 Emma Hammond 01/09/2016 31/08/2024 M
Foundation 5 Julia Martin-Jones 01/09/2018 31/08/2022 M
Foundation 6 & ex-officio Neil Penny 01/09/2016 31/08/2024 Chair
Foundation 7 Ruth Rudge 01/09/2018 31/08/2022 M
Foundation 8 & ex-officio Fr Nicholas Bromfield N/A N/A M
Parent 1 Vacant
Parent 2 Vacant
LA John Payne 01/09/2018 31/08/2022 M
Staff 1 Vacant
Staff co-opted Vacant
EHT & ex-officio Matthew Fletcher N/A N/A M
Associate Alison Hopton 15/11/2016 14/11/2024 M
Associate Fiona Hall 15/11/2016 14/11/2024 M
Clerk Caroline Sexton N/A N/A Cl

 Committees and Working Parties

Name Chair Committee Membership
Curriculum Committee Carol Gunn Matt Fletcher, Ali Hopton,  Neil Penny, Emma Hammond
Vision and Ethos Committee   Matt Fletcher, Ali Hopton,  Emma Hammond, Michael Brick, Carol Gunn, Fr Nicholas Bromfield
Pay and Personnel Committee Emma Hammond Matt Fletcher, Ali Hopton, Neil Penny, Carol Gunn
Admissions Committee Fiona Hall Matt Fletcher, Fr Nicholas Bromfield, Neil Penny,  Caroline Sexton
Safeguarding Monitoring Group Matt Fletcher, Ali Hopton,  Ruth Rudge, 
Finance and Premises Committee Michael Brick Matt Fletcher, Neil Penny, Helen O'Connell, Rachael Gasher

The Executive Head Teacher and Chair of Governors are ex-officio members of every committee. Other committees and working parties are set up as and when needed.

Full Governing Board minutes 2019-20

24 September 2019

27 November 2019

Meetings were suspended from March 2020 due to Covid-19. Governors continued to stay in touch with school remotely.

Full Governing Board minutes 2020-21

1 October 2020

Governors with special responsibilities:

Safeguarding and Looked-after Children:  Ruth Rudge

Executive Head Teacher's Performance Review:  Neil Penny, Emma Hammond, Chris Rayers (Independent Advisor)

SIAMS, SMSC,  Worship and RE : Carol Gunn

Attendance Records for 2019 - 2020

Attendance Records for 2020-2021